Our order at a glance
| Rank | Product | Who it fits | Who should skip it | Published entry price | Free plan |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 Our pick | inFlow Inventory | SMBs evaluating a focused inventory, purchasing, sales order, and barcode workflow | The buying team requires a broad enterprise resource planning suite | $99/month, billed annuallyLite planVendor pricing page, checked Oct 27, 2026 ↗ | No |
| 2 | Cin7 | Growing product businesses evaluating connected inventory, order, warehouse, and channel operations | The team needs only a basic item list and simple stock counts | $349/monthStandard (Cin7 Core) planVendor pricing page, checked Oct 27, 2026 ↗ | No |
| 3 | Zoho Inventory | Small businesses evaluating inventory and order management within the Zoho ecosystem | The operation requires deep manufacturing planning or highly specialized warehouse execution | $29 per organization/month, billed annuallyStandard planVendor pricing page, checked Oct 27, 2026 ↗ | Yes, 50 orders a month, 1 user |
| 4 | Katana | Makers and light manufacturers evaluating material, production, and finished-goods visibility | The business has no production or assembly workflow to manage | Quote only: no public pricePaid plan quoted on an annual contractVendor pricing page, checked Oct 27, 2026 ↗ | Yes, limited to 30 SKUs after 15 days |
| 5 | Fishbowl | Businesses evaluating inventory and manufacturing workflows alongside an existing accounting system | The team prioritizes a minimal setup with few operational dependencies | From $229/month, billed annuallyEssentials planVendor pricing page, checked Oct 27, 2026 ↗ | No |
| 6 | Finale Inventory | Multichannel sellers evaluating centralized stock control and warehouse operations | The business needs a general accounting suite rather than an inventory system | From $499/monthEssentials planVendor pricing page, checked Oct 27, 2026 ↗ | No |
| 7 | Unleashed | Wholesalers and product businesses evaluating purchasing, stock, and product-margin workflows | The buyer wants a lightweight mobile item-counting tool | $99/monthLite planOr $1,089 a yearVendor pricing page, checked Oct 27, 2026 ↗ | No |
| 8 | Ordoro | Ecommerce operators evaluating order, shipping, and inventory coordination across sales channels | Production planning or complex warehouse control is the central requirement | From $349/monthInventory Advanced planThe free plan covers shipping labels onlyVendor pricing page, checked Oct 27, 2026 ↗ | No |
| 9 | Sortly | Small teams evaluating visual item tracking, mobile counts, and straightforward asset or supply control | The buyer needs advanced purchasing, manufacturing, or multichannel order orchestration | $49/monthAdvanced planPromotion: $24/month in year one on yearly billingVendor pricing page, checked Oct 27, 2026 ↗ | Yes, 100 items and 1 user |
| 10 | Extensiv | Brands and logistics operators evaluating connected warehouse, order, and fulfillment workflows | The operation has one simple stockroom and no external fulfillment relationships | Quote only: no public priceVendor pricing page, checked Oct 27, 2026 ↗ | No |
Prices are the entry list prices each vendor publishes on its own US pricing page, read on Oct 27, 2026. They exclude taxes, payment processing unless stated, hardware, add-ons and negotiated discounts; a promotion appears only in the notes, labeled as one. Prices change. No vendor paid for a place or a price in this table.
What follows is an opinion, written for one reader: the owner or operations lead of a US product business with roughly 5 to 100 people, who is moving stock off a spreadsheet or out of an accounting tool that was never meant to track it. We built the order from each vendor's published scope and documentation, weighed against what we take to be that reader's central failure: nobody can say how many units are really on the shelf, or which document changed the number. There were no hands-on trials behind this list, and no vendor paid for a position in it.
The order
- inFlow Inventory. The default. A focused stock, purchasing, sales order and barcode system aimed at small and midsize teams that run their own operations.
- Cin7. The pick once sales channels and warehouses start to multiply, and one inventory record has to feed all of them.
- Zoho Inventory. The sensible choice when the business already runs its books, CRM or invoicing on Zoho and wants stock inside the same family of apps.
- Katana. For makers and light manufacturers who need to see raw materials, production and finished goods in one place.
- Fishbowl. For heavier inventory and manufacturing work that has to sit beside an accounting system the company intends to keep.
- Finale Inventory. Warehouse-centered stock control for multichannel sellers whose problem is the stockroom, not the storefront.
- Unleashed. Built around wholesale purchasing, stock and product margins.
- Ordoro. Shipping-led: orders, shipping and stock coordinated across ecommerce channels.
- Sortly. Visual item tracking and mobile counts for teams that track supplies or equipment rather than sell stock.
- Extensiv. Warehouse, order and fulfillment workflows for brands and logistics operators working with outside warehouses.
Why inFlow Inventory is first
Our reader does not need a planning suite. They need receiving, picking, purchasing and counts to land in one ledger that ordinary staff trust, and inFlow positions itself squarely on that workflow. Its documentation is also concrete about edges that matter to a small retailer. The Square support article explains that completed Square orders can be pulled into inFlow as fulfilled, paid sales orders that update inventory, while product name, SKU, quantity on hand, price and barcode push one way from inFlow to Square. It also says what does not happen: refunds processed in the Square Dashboard do not sync, and orders with non-catalog items are not pulled. A vendor that states its limits lets a five-person team plan around them.
inFlow drops down the list when the buyer actually wants a broad resource planning suite, or when production steps, not resale, drive most of the work.
Why Cin7 is second, not first
Cin7 is aimed at the business that has already outgrown one channel and one stockroom. Its Square page describes Square sales flowing into Cin7 and updating stock, product edits pushing back to Square, and multiple Square locations being managed. Its 3PL Connect page describes a brand tracking its own stock across outside fulfillment warehouses. That breadth is the reason to choose it, and also the reason it is second: a team with one location and one storefront pays for connected operations it will not use yet. When your channel count or warehouse count is the thing growing, move Cin7 to the top.
Where the rest of the list wins
Places three to five are about the job surrounding inventory. Zoho Inventory earns its place through the suite it belongs to; outside Zoho, its advantage shrinks. Katana and Fishbowl are both production choices. Katana suits a maker who wants material and finished-goods visibility at the light-manufacturing end, while Fishbowl suits an operation that will staff a heavier system beside its accounting.
Places six to eight are specialists for sellers. Finale Inventory fits when warehouse control across channels is the dominant pain. Unleashed fits a wholesaler who lives in purchase orders and margins. Ordoro fits an ecommerce operator whose day is shaped by shipping.
The last two serve different readers entirely. Sortly is the right tool when the goal is knowing where items are, not managing sales orders. Extensiv belongs to logistics work across warehouses and fulfillment partners.
Who should ignore this order
- A maker with bills of materials: start at Katana if production is light, Fishbowl if it is heavier and runs beside accounting.
- A wholesaler buying in volume and watching margins: start at Unleashed.
- A team that only counts items and supplies: start at Sortly.
- A logistics operator or a brand built on outside fulfillment: start at Extensiv.
Before you commit
Use the list to decide which two systems to put on trial, not which one to sign. Bring one real week of receipts, a partial shipment and a cycle count to each finalist, and check that a warehouse user can explain every quantity change from the record alone.
Traceable evidence
Sources for this decision
- vendorinFlow Inventory official product siteinFlow Inventory · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: SMBs evaluating a focused inventory, purchasing, sales order, and barcode workflow. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorCin7 official product siteCin7 · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Growing product businesses evaluating connected inventory, order, warehouse, and channel operations. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorZoho Inventory official product siteZoho Inventory · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Small businesses evaluating inventory and order management within the Zoho ecosystem. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorKatana official product siteKatana · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Makers and light manufacturers evaluating material, production, and finished-goods visibility. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorFishbowl official product siteFishbowl · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Businesses evaluating inventory and manufacturing workflows alongside an existing accounting system. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorFinale Inventory official product siteFinale Inventory · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Multichannel sellers evaluating centralized stock control and warehouse operations. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorUnleashed official product siteUnleashed · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Wholesalers and product businesses evaluating purchasing, stock, and product-margin workflows. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorOrdoro official product siteOrdoro · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Ecommerce operators evaluating order, shipping, and inventory coordination across sales channels. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorSortly official product siteSortly · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Small teams evaluating visual item tracking, mobile counts, and straightforward asset or supply control. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorExtensiv official product siteExtensiv · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Brands and logistics operators evaluating connected warehouse, order, and fulfillment workflows. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.Open source ↗
- vendorConnecting inFlow to Square (inFlow support)inFlow Inventory · checked Oct 16, 2026 · supports: inFlow support article on its Square integration: one or both of two modes, paying inFlow sales orders on a paired Square Terminal, or pulling completed Square orders into inFlow as fulfilled, paid sales orders that update sales and inventory levels, with orders containing non-catalog items not pulled and recreated manually; a one-way push of product name, SKU, quantity on hand, price and barcode from inFlow to Square, matched by SKU then name, with no serial numbers and no blank price or barcode values pushed; the Square account location linked to an inFlow location during setup; a refund initiated on a Square Terminal under the pull mode creating a new open sales order linked by receipt number, and refunds processed directly in the Square Dashboard not syncing, so the related sales order is updated manually; it does not state plan requirements, offline-sale handling, or behavior for a specific configuration.Open source ↗
- vendorCin7 Square integration pageCin7 · checked Oct 16, 2026 · supports: Cin7 marketing page for its Square integration stating that Square sales flow into Cin7 and update stock, described as real time, that products added or edited in Cin7 push to Square, that receiving stock in Cin7 pushes updated quantities back to Square, and, in its FAQ, that multiple Square locations can be managed; it does not specify Cin7 Core or Omni, explain how Square locations map to Cin7 locations, mention refunds, or prove sync timing or recovery after an outage.Open source ↗
- vendorCin7 3PL Connect pageCin7 · checked Oct 16, 2026 · supports: Cin7 feature page describing how a product business connects its own inventory to outside 3PL warehouses, tracking records and stock moves across each fulfillment node; it is written for the brand that owns the stock and does not describe a logistics operator holding separately owned inventory for many clients.Open source ↗