Most small product businesses already have inventory in two places: the accounting software that values it and the point of sale that sells it. A dedicated inventory system is a third subscription and a third place for counts to disagree, so the honest question is whether the first two already cover you. We read Intuit's and Square's own help and feature pages and the three inventory vendors' pricing pages on October 28, 2026. Nothing here comes from a hands-on trial.

For whom: a retailer, maker or wholesaler under about 20 people, already on accounting software and a POS or online store. Not for: a business choosing its accounting software; that is a different decision.

What you already have

Accounting: QuickBooks OnlinePOS: Square
Quantity trackingPlus and Advanced only; Simple Start and Essentials need an add-on or an upgradeBasic item and catalog management on Square Free, with low-stock alerts
PurchasingPurchase orders (turned on in settings) and restocking: receiving recorded by a bill, check or expense raises quantity on handPurchase orders and vendor profiles on Square Plus
Several locationsNot covered in the setup article we readStock transfers across locations on Square Plus
Cost of goodsInventory value on the balance sheetCOGS reports on Square Plus once unit costs are entered
BundlesListed among items whose quantities QuickBooks does not trackNot covered on the page we read
CostYour QuickBooks Online planSquare Plus, $49 per location a month

Five signs you have outgrown them

  1. You must trace a lot or a serial number to a customer, for recalls, warranties or expiry dates.
  2. You build products from parts and need the components to leave stock when the finished item is made.
  3. You hold stock in more than one warehouse and fulfill orders from whichever has it.
  4. You sell wholesale with customer-specific prices and partial shipments.
  5. Counts disagree every month between the store, the website and the books, and nobody knows which is right.

None of these is about size. A two-person brand selling serialized products hits sign 1 on day one; a large shop selling simple goods may never hit any of them.

Our pick for the first dedicated tool

Zoho Inventory. It is the cheapest paid step from "accounting plus POS" to a real inventory system: its free plan already handles composite items within its limits, Standard is $29 per organization a month billed annually, and serial number and batch tracking arrive on Premium at $79. For a small business that hits sign 1 or 2, that is the lowest published price of these three for the feature it actually needs.

  • Choose inFlow if the people doing the counting are not office staff: its Lite plan is $99 a month billed annually for two team members and one location, and serial numbers are a $39-a-month add-on, so price the plan you would really run.
  • Choose Cin7 Core if you already sell through several channels and need production and wholesale in one system: it starts at $349 a month with five users and two integrations, a price that only pays off once signs 3 to 5 are all present.

If none of the five signs applies, stay where you are and use cycle counting to keep the counts honest. For the full price comparison, see inventory software cost.

Traceable evidence

Sources for this decision

11 sources
  1. vendorQuickBooks Online help: set up and track your inventory (updated June 17, 2026)Intuit · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Intuit's help article updated June 17, 2026: inventory features are available only on QuickBooks Online Plus and Advanced, Simple Start and Essentials users can buy an inventory add-on or upgrade, and bundles are listed among items whose quantities QuickBooks does not track, purchase orders must be turned on in settings, a product can be reordered from a purchase order, and recording a bill, check or expense for received items raises quantity on hand; it does not cover lots, serial numbers or multiple locations.
    Open source ↗
  2. vendorSquare inventory management features pageSquare · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Square's US inventory management page as read on October 28, 2026: basic item and catalog management and low-stock alerts on Square Free; vendor profiles, purchase orders, stock transfers across locations, COGS reports from per-unit costs, barcode labels and advanced reports on Square Plus, which costs $49 per month per location; it does not state item limits or stock-count features.
    Open source ↗
  3. vendorZoho Inventory official product siteZoho Inventory · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Small businesses evaluating inventory and order management within the Zoho ecosystem. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.
    Open source ↗
  4. vendorinFlow Inventory official product siteinFlow Inventory · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: SMBs evaluating a focused inventory, purchasing, sales order, and barcode workflow. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.
    Open source ↗
  5. vendorCin7 official product siteCin7 · checked Aug 5, 2026 · supports: Vendor-published product scope used to verify capabilities relevant to this buyer context: Growing product businesses evaluating connected inventory, order, warehouse, and channel operations. It does not prove the guide's fit verdict, configured performance, current pricing or compliance.
    Open source ↗
  6. vendorZoho Inventory pricing pageZoho Inventory · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Zoho Inventory's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Standard plan ($29 per organization/month, billed annually), and a free plan (Yes, 50 orders a month, 1 user). It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.
    Open source ↗
  7. vendorZoho Inventory pricing page, plan tiersZoho · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Zoho Inventory's US pricing page as read on October 28, 2026: Standard $29, Premium $79, Plus $129 and Enterprise $249 per organization a month billed annually; composite items from the free plan and Standard; serial number and batch tracking from Premium; it does not mention reorder points or demand forecasting on that page.
    Open source ↗
  8. vendorinFlow Inventory pricing pageinFlow Inventory · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: inFlow Inventory's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Lite plan ($99/month, billed annually), and whether a free plan exists. It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.
    Open source ↗
  9. vendorinFlow pricing page, cloud plansinFlow · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: inFlow's pricing page as read on October 28, 2026: cloud plans billed annually, Lite $99 a month with 2 team members and 1 location, Core $299, Pro $499 and Max $699, and serial numbers as a $39-a-month add-on in its calculator; it does not mention an on-premise or perpetual license, reorder points or forecasting.
    Open source ↗
  10. vendorCin7 pricing pageCin7 · checked Oct 27, 2026 · supports: Cin7's own pricing page as read on 2026-10-27, supporting the entry list price of its Standard (Cin7 Core) plan ($349/month), and whether a free plan exists. It does not prove the total cost for a given buyer, later price changes, promotions, negotiated discounts or taxes.
    Open source ↗
  11. vendorCin7 pricing page, Core plansCin7 · checked Oct 28, 2026 · supports: Cin7's pricing page as read on October 28, 2026: Cin7 Core Standard $349, Pro $599 and Advanced $1,199 a month with 5, 10 and 15 users, 6,000, 24,000 and 120,000 sale orders a year and 2, 4 and 6 integrations; Cin7 Omni by quote with 8 users and 5 integrations in the comparison table; ForesightAI as an add-on on every tier; it does not state annual billing terms.
    Open source ↗